Brisbane Earn Courageous Draw in Perth

The Full Collection Image

A courageous Brisbane Roar side has recorded their first draw of the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 campaign – a 0-0 result against Perth Glory at nib Stadium tonight.

Despite playing more than 60 minutes with 10 men following the dismissal of striker Besart Berisha, the Roar dominated proceedings and looked like the side most likely to find the back of the net.

There was plenty of feeling in the match from both sides but it was Brisbane who fashioned the most chances in front of goal with the Glory rarely troubling Michael Theo between the sticks.

Luke Brattan was impressive with his set pieces, driving a long range free kick just wide late in the first half before teeing up Thomas Broich from a corner with the German flashing the effort wide of the post.

Brazilian livewire Henrique arguably had the best chance of the match two minutes in the second half, scooping his shot over the crossbar after Broich found him with a perfectly weighted through ball between two Perth defenders.

Right-back Jack Hingert also threw himself into the action and almost found himself with just Glory goalkeeper Danny Vukovic to beat if not for a well-timed tackle from Sidnei Sciola inside the penalty area.

Head Coach Mike Mulvey introduced Dimitri Petratos and Brandon Borrello inside the last 10 minutes as his side continued to press high up the park but the match finished 0-0, the Roar claiming a well-earned point on the road.

Next up for Brisbane Roar is a double header with the club’s Westfield W-League team next Friday at Suncorp Stadium.

Perth Glory 0
Brisbane Roar 0
Friday, 17 January 2014
nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 6:45pm local time (8.45pm Brisbane time)
Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Perth Glory: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (gk), 7.Jacob BURNS, 11.Adrian ZAHRA, 14.Steven McGARRY, 15.Isaka CERNAK (9.Shane SMELTZ 56’), 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17.Chris HAROLD, 23.Michael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES (19.Josh RISDON 66’), 25.Riley WOODCOCK, 36.William GALLAS (2.Jack CLISBY 46’)
Substitutes not used: 6.Cameron EDWARDS, 39.Luke RADONICH (gk)
Yellow cards: Jacob BURNS 26’, Danny VUKOVIC 33’, Adrian ZAHRA 58’
Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: 1.Michael THEO (gk), 2.Matthew SMITH (c), 3.Shane STEFANUTTO, 7.Besart BERISHA, 10.HENRIQUE (28.Brandon BORRELLO 83’), 11.Liam MILLER (23. Dimitri PETRATOS 80’), 13.Jade NORTH, 17.Matt McKAY, 18.Luke BRATTAN, 19.Jack HINGERT, 22.Thomas BROICH
Substitutes not used: 20.Matthew ACTON (gk), 27. Devante CLUT, 35.Jai INGHAM
Yellow cards: Besart BERISHA 1’, 32’, Liam MILLER 35’, Jade NORTH 69’, Jack HINGERT 90+3’
Red cards: Besart BERISHA 32’

Jason Ganter

Latest Video

Membership Login