Brisbane Grounded by Jets

The Full Collection Image

Brisbane Roar has fallen to their second loss of the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season, losing 2-1 to Newcastle Jets in tough conditions at Hunter Stadium.

Roar midfielder Luke Brattan’s 39th minute effort was cancelled out by a second-half double from Newcastle striker Adam Taggart in a match dampened by non-stop rain.

In the match’s first clear cut chance, Dimitri Petratos and Thomas Broich combined at the top end the Roar attack in the 27th minute, allowing Petratos to unleash a low, driving shot just inches wide of the Newcastle goal.

Brattan went close to scoring just after the half hour mark – his shot inside the penalty area blocked by Jets defender Scott Neville – before he managed to break the deadlock in the 39th minute with only his second Hyundai A-League goal.

Jets goalkeeper Mark Birightti’s punched away a corner taken by Broich and the midfielder struck the ball from the edge of the area, taking a deflection on its way to the back of the net.

It was a deserved lead but the home side replied just minutes after the half-time break through Adam Taggart, the Newcastle striker chipping Roar custodian Michael Theo after poor touch from skipper Matt Smith.

Not long after, the Jets had a chance to snatch the lead via the penalty spot but Nathan Burns smacked the ball against the crossbar after Jade North handled the ball inside the area.

Newcastle secured the win through Taggart’s second goal 15 minutes from full time as a pass from Roar’s James Donachie struck a puddle on the Hunter Stadium playing surface and allowed the Newcastle striker in on goal.

Newcastle Jets 2 (Adam TAGGART 50’, 75’)
Brisbane Roar 1 (Luke BRATTAN 39’)
Sunday, 17 November 2013
Hunter Stadium, Newcastle
Kick-off: 4.00pm Brisbane time (5:00pm AEDT)
Referee: Matt Gillett

Newcastle Jets: 1. Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk), 2. Scott NEVILLE, 4. Kew JALIENS, 5. Benjamin KANTAROVSKI, 7. Andrew HOOLE (11. Craig GOODWIN 72’), 8. Ruben ZADKOVICH (c), 10. Nathan BURNS, 12. Connor CHAPMAN, 15. Joshua BRILLANTE (9. Emile HESKEY 53’), 16. Jacob PEPPER, 22. Adam TAGGART (6. Zenon CARAVELLA 90’)

Substitutes not used: 19. Michael BRIDGES, 20. Ben KENNEDY (gk)

Yellow cards: Connor CHAPMAN 20’, Benjamin KANTAROVSKI 58’, Adam TAGGART 75’

Red cards: Kew JALIENS 87’

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 2. Matt SMITH (c), 10. HENRIQUE (28. Brandon BORRELLO 73’), 13. Jade NORTH, 14. Diogo FERREIRA (29. Kwame YEBOAH 56’), 15. James DONACHIE (34. Patrick THEODORE 84’), 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Jack HINGERT, 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Dimitri PETRATOS, 26.Corey BROWN

Substitutes not used: 20. Matthew ACTON (gk), 27. Devante CLUT

Yellow cards: Jade NORTH 15’, Diogo FERREIRA 20’

Red cards: Nil

Football Central

Latest Video

Membership Login