Disciplinary record- February

Advertise With Us Image

Over the course of the season we’ll keep tabs on the yellow and red cards handed out each week across the A-League. It all adds up to the ‘Fair play Award’ on the A-League’s annual awards night, an award which was won last season by Wellington Phoenix.

Brisbane Roar have been the most successful disciplined side of the first decade, winning the award on five occasions including four straight from 2010-11 through 2013-14. Other winners include Melbourne Victory, Perth Glory, Newcastle Jets and Sydney FC. The full list of winners is below.

2005-06: Melbourne Victory
2006-07:  Perth Glory
2007-08:  Newcastle Jets
2008-09:  Brisbane Roar
2009-10:  Sydney FC
2010-11:  Brisbane Roar
2011-12:  Brisbane Roar
2012-13:  Brisbane Roar
2013-14:  Brisbane Roar
2014-15: Wellington Phoenix

For those unaware, the award is decided on a points system, with points accrued for Yellow Cards, Second Yellow Cards and Straight Red Cards.

Here’s a breakdown on how the points system works:
1 Point- Yellow Card
2 Points- Second Yellow Card
3 Points- Red Card

All data in this series is collated from the official match reports posted on the A-League website.


Starting with the teams table, and since the last update, Central Coast and Melbourne City have been the least disciplined sides, picking up 9 yellow and 2 reds , and 10 yellows, 1 second yellow and one red respectively, for a grand total of 15 points. At the other end of the table, Sydney FC and Wellington Phoenix have been the most disciplined over the past month, with just six yellow cards a piece.

On the overall table, Brisbane Roar still have a commanding lead at the top, sitting 16 points clear of Western Sydney in second as we enter the final third of the season. At the other end of the table, the last month of ill-discipline from Central Coast and Melbourne City have seen those two sides drop to the bottom of the table, with Wellington Phoenix narrowly ahead.


Onto the individual players, and Melbourne City’s Jack Clisby has been the biggest offender in the past month, picking up three cautions in the new looked City backline. Overall Clisby joins Victory’s Daniel Georgievski and Newcastle’s Jason Hoffman as the most carded players this season.

At this stage of the season, 26 players have accrued a one game ban for picking up five yellow cards, with Wellington Phoenix the most affected side with 6 players. At the other end of the scale are Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory and Perth Glory, who have only seen one player miss a game due to accumulation of yellow cards.

Perth Glory meanwhile have seen the most players pick up a yellow card this season, with 20 separate Glory players going into the referee’s notebook, while Adelaide United and Brisbane Roar lead the way with 13 players. All up 154 players have been cautioned this season, up from 139 players in the last update.

82 players were cautioned in the last month, at an average of 4.1 per game, which is a decrease on the last month’s average. Across the season there have been 412 yellow cards handed out at an average of 4.5 per game, with last month’s average of cards per game sitting at 4.8.

In terms of red cards, Newcastle’s Nigel Boogaard this month became the first player to be sent off twice this season, both of which were for two bookable offences. Round 18’s three red cards is also a record for this season for most dismissals in a round.

All up now 17 players have been sent off this season, at an average of 0.19 per game. Central Coast Mariners have had the most players dismissed this season, with five players receiving their marching orders. At the other end of the spectrum, Adelaide United and Brisbane Roar are yet to have a player sent off this season.

The next update will be at the conclusion of round 22.

Scott Owen

Scott Owen is a writer for website "The Roar Review" an unofficial blog site that mainly focuses on Brisbane Roar.

Latest Video

Membership Login