Disciplinary record- January

Advertise With Us Image

Over the course of the season we’ll keep tabs on the yellow and red cards handed out each week across the A-League. It all adds up to the ‘Fair play Award’ on the A-League’s annual awards night, an award which was won last season by Wellington Phoenix.

Brisbane Roar have been the most successful disciplined side of the first decade, winning the award on five occasions including four straight from 2010-11 through 2013-14. Other winners include Melbourne Victory, Perth Glory, Newcastle Jets and Sydney FC. The full list of winners is below.

2005-06: Melbourne Victory
2006-07:  Perth Glory
2007-08:  Newcastle Jets
2008-09:  Brisbane Roar
2009-10:  Sydney FC
2010-11:  Brisbane Roar
2011-12:  Brisbane Roar
2012-13:  Brisbane Roar
2013-14:  Brisbane Roar
2014-15: Wellington Phoenix

For those unaware, the award is decided on a points system, with points accrued for Yellow Cards, Second Yellow Cards and Straight Red Cards.

Here’s a breakdown on how the points system works:
1 Point- Yellow Card
2 Points- Second Yellow Card
3 Points- Red Card

All data in this series is collated from the official match reports posted on the A-League website.


Starting with the league wide table, and table leading Brisbane Roar have the best discipline record over the past month with just the seven yellow cards accrued, with Adelaide and Melbourne City tied for second.

At the other end of the scale Wellington Phoenix have had the worst discipline record in the last month with 16 yellow cards and a second yellow for a total of 18 points, one point worse than Western Sydney Wanderers.

Overall Brisbane Roar have extended their lead in the fair play table with just 16 yellow cards in 10 rounds, with second played Western Sydney Wanderers having picked up double the points in the same period of time.

Meanwhile Wellington Phoenix have the worst disciplinary record of the season so far, with 41 yellow cards at an average of four per game, with Sydney FC and Melbourne City rounding out the bottom 3.


Onto the player table, and a number of players have now accrued five yellow cards picking up a one match ban, with Paulo Retre (City), Jason Hoffman (Jets), Marc Warren (Perth), Filip Holosko (Sydney), Roly Bonevacia and Alex Rodriguez (Wellington) and Scott Neville and Andreu Mayoral (West Sydney) all picking up at least five cards this season.

So far 137 players have picked up cautions this season, with Perth Glory having the most players on the list with 17, while at the other end of the scale Brisbane lead the way with just 10.

All up there have been 312 yellow cards shown in the 2015-16 season at an average of 4.8 per game, which is down from the 4.9 average in the last update.


Since the last update, Sydney’s Alex Gersbach has joined Jake McGing as the only players to receive a straight red card this season, while Paul Izzo and Albert Riera picked up second yellow cards in the past month.

The next update will be at the conclusion of round 17 which will include all games up to and including 31/01.

Scott Owen

Scott Owen is a writer for website "The Roar Review" an unofficial blog site that mainly focuses on Brisbane Roar.

Latest Video

Membership Login