Roar Unveil W-League squad and Slash NYL squad

Advertise With Us Image

Brisbane Roar over the weekend have confirmed the majority of their W-League squad for the upcoming season as they seek to return to the finals after missing out for the first time in the competition’s history last year.

It is the outs which dominate the attention with a host of internationals all departing the setup, a list which includes Nadine Angerer (retired) Elise Kellond-Knight (Germany), Kim Carroll (Perth), Hayley Raso (Melbourne Victory), Laura Alleway (Melbourne City) and Sunny Franco (Sydney FC).

Coming in for the Roar are a host of players from the NPL Queensland with Sofie Persson (Sunshine Coast) Gabe Marzano, Ruth Blackburn and Malli Forbes (all The Gap), while Carrie Simpson arrives from the UK as a replacement for the retired Angerer.

Foundation W-League coach Jeff Hopkins has also returned to the women’s set-up, after he was released from his A-League assistant’s role.

So far just 17 players have been confirmed, so there will be another three players added before the season begins with a home game against Canberra.

W-League squad 2015-16
2. Brooke Goodrich, 3. Amy Chapman, 4. Clare Polkinghorne, 6. Angela Beard, 7. Gabe Marzano, 8. Ayesha Norrie, 9. Cortnee Vince, 10. Katrina Gorry, 12 Alisha Foote, 13. Tameka Butt, 14. Summer O’Brien, 15. Ruth Blackburn, 16. Ashley Spina, 17. Emily Gielnik, 18. Maili Forbes, 19. Sofie Persson, 20. Carrie Simpson (gk).

Meanwhile while the women’s team has grown in number, the club’s youth setup has been slashed over the weekend, with twelve players told they wouldn’t be required for the upcoming National Youth League season and the following NPL Queensland campaign.

This comes just days after it was stated at a heated fan forum that youth was an integral part of the Bakries’ strategy and how the owner enjoys young players getting an opportunity.

Those who have been moved on include Luke Pavlou and Patrick Theodore, both of whom played in the A-League last year. Joining them on the way out the exit door include twins Connor and Steven O’Neill, goalkeeper Denver Crickmore, defenders Austin Ludwik and Jordan Lampard, midfielders Lachlan Gorry and Logan Grillo and forward Shelford Dais. Fringe players Alex Krsic and Josh Grommen were also let go.

That leave’s Brisbane relying on a younger squad for the upcoming NYL campaign with the press release stating that the club will be focusing on the u/18’s group from the NPL season just gone.

In terms of experienced players who survived the cull and which may be called upon for first team duty this season, that list includes goalkeeper Tomislav Bilic, defenders Jaiden Walker, Matthew Schmidt and Cameron Crestani, midfielder Mitch Hore and attackers Abrahim Yango and Nicholas D’Agostino.

The 2015-16 National Youth League season gets underway for Brisbane with a trip to Perth in November.

Scott Owen

Scott Owen is a writer for website "The Roar Review" an unofficial blog site that mainly focuses on Brisbane Roar.

Latest Video

Membership Login