Victory League Licence Changes

The Full Collection Image

The board of Football Federation Tasmania (FFT) today announced the promotion of Clarence United into the PlayStation 4 Victory League for the 2016-18-licence period. In addition, Launceston City retain their place in the eight team statewide competition and along with Clarence, will join Devonport Strikers, Hobart JEEP Zebras, Kingborough Lions, Northern Rangers, Olympia FC Warriors and South Hobart FC in the Victory League for next season.

This means Glenorchy Knights, New Town Eagles and Riverside Olympic were unsuccessful in their application for the next phase of the Victory League (2016-18).

FFT President Sean Collins said the process had included a thorough and encompassing review of the five applicant clubs for the two vacant positions in the league, for the next three seasons.

“Due diligence was taken with all five applicants, we reviewed their submissions thoroughly and met with each club for them to present their case. Following this process it was clear that Clarence United and Launceston City should be the two successful applicants,” Mr Collins explained.

“Clarence United demonstrated a whole of club approach which impressed the board as well as being in a position to field a competitive team over the course of the licence.

“It is clear Launceston City have been on an upward trajectory and the performance of their club on and off the pitch reinforced their position as a member of the Victory League.

“No doubt Glenorchy Knights and their supporters will be disappointed that they have missed out on this occasion, having been a previous licence holder. However, FFT will continue to be available to offer advice and assistance to them and any other clubs aspiring to opportunities, which may arise in the future.

“Clearly the Victory League is not a closed shop and Clarence are the beneficiaries of it this time around,” Mr Collins said.

The licence period spans three seasons and the competing clubs will be reviewed each season. The FFT board and the participating clubs have also committed to identifying a method of promotion/relegation for the following licence period (2019). Mr Collins believes the transparent application process has been beneficial for clubs both in and outside the Victory League.

“Those in the competition can not get complacent with their performance on and off the pitch and those outside will continue to have an opportunity in some form to gain entry to the league,” he added.

The changes to the participating clubs in the Victory League will take affect for the 2016 season and will span the licence period from 2016-2018.

The 2015 PlayStation 4 Victory League season has three rounds to run and the title is still up for grabs with South Hobart and Olympia FC Warriors battling it out for Tasmania’s most prized piece of silverware.

Following the season the Victory Cup will take place with the top six from the Victory League as well as the Northern and Southern Championship Premiers competing in a knockout competition.

-Content provided by Football Federation Tasmania-

Football Central

Latest Video

Membership Login