Yeboah Blasts Roar a Late Winner

The Full Collection Image

A stunning last minute goal from substitute Kwame Yeboah has given Brisbane Roar a memorable away win over current Hyundai A-League Champions Central Coast Mariners at Bluetongue Stadium.

Yeboah, who had been on the pitch for less than two minutes, scored with a powerful strike in the 89th minute to keep Brisbane top of the Hyundai A-League ladder for another week.

Without four regular starters in Besart Berisha, Liam Miller, Shane Stefanutto and Jade North, the Roar were outside favourites heading into the match against the undefeated Mariners but kept their opponents on their toes throughout the 90 minutes.

An evenly-matched first half saw limited chances for both sides with Henrique and Matt McKay going closest for Brisbane.

Henrique forced a two-handed save from Central Coast goalkeeper Liam Reddy in the 38th minute with a strike from outside the box before McKay’s 44th minute effort across goal went just wide after good build-up play from Ivan Franjic and Jack Hingert.

On the hour mark, Franjic showed composure to control the ball after a Thomas Broich free kick but couldn’t hit the target before Henrique went close in the 77th minute, forcing Mariners defender Trent Sainsbury to clear the ball off the line.

Josh Rose almost won it for the home side with two minutes left to play, striking the upright in the 88th minute, before the Roar took the ball up the other end and sealed the win with one of Yeboah’s first touches of the match.

Played in by Hingert, Yeboah’s first touch took the ball inside the area before striking it with power and precision, giving Reddy no chance between the posts for the Mariners.

Brisbane maintain top spot on the Hyundai A-League ladder with Newcastle Jets at Hunter Stadium their next challenge.

Central Coast Mariners 0
Brisbane Roar 1 (Kwame YEBOAH 89’)
Sunday, 10 November 2013
Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford
Kick-off: 4.00pm Brisbane time (5:00pm AEDT)
Referee: Ben Williams

Central Coast Mariners: 2. Daniel MCBREEN, 3. Joshua ROSE, 4. Marcel SEIP, 5. Zachary ANDERSON, 7. John HUTCHINSON (c), 8. Nick MONTGOMERY, 9. Mitchell DUKE, 10. Marcos FLORES (19. Matthew SIMON 77’), 11. Nick FITZGERALD (21. Mile STERJOVSKI 66’), 12. Liam REDDY (gk), 16. Trent SAINSBURY
Substitutes not used: 1. Justin PASFIELD, 6. Brent GRIFFITHS, 17.Anthony CACERES
Yellow cards: Nick FITZGERALD 51’
Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 2. Matt SMITH (c), 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 10. HENRIQUE (29. Kwame YEBOAH 87’), 15. James DONACHIE, 17. Matt McKAY, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Jack HINGERT, 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Dimitri PETRATOS, 26.Corey BROWN
Substitutes not used: 14. Diogo FERREIRA, 20. Matthew ACTON (gk), 27. Devante CLUT, 28. Brandon BORRELLO
Yellow cards: Matt SMITH 59’, Matt McKAY 90+3’
Red cards: Nil

Football Central

Latest Video

Membership Login